(More) Scatter Terrain

2015-04-19 009
Click for a bigger picture.

I was planning to make some jungle trees as my next terrain offering, but an unexpected arrival of some Fenris Games parts meant that I used the bases I had cut for some scatter terrain instead. All of the studio photo-shoots for White Dwarf in the 1990s featured copious amounts of barrels and crates (as in the header of this blog, for example) and these are my modern versions. The tech crates and wooden crates are by Fenris Games, the wooden ammo crates are by Victoria Miniatures and the barrels are a mixture of Games Workshop and Tamiya 1/35 WWII German 200L oil drums (and also jerry-cans from the same kit).

2015-04-19 012
Click for a bigger picture.

The flock is Woodland Scenics Golden Harvest with various MiniaNatur tufts and flowers added.

2015-04-19 016
Click for a bigger picture.

The crate with hazard stripes is my homage to the 1990s 40K battle reports. The “Take and Hold” mission required taking a certain place on the board, which was represented in the White Dwarf battles by a crate with hazard stripes on top.

2015-04-19 018
Click for a bigger picture.
9 thoughts on “(More) Scatter Terrain

  1. They look really nice, atmospheric and characterful.

    I have some crates etc lined up for trying to get rid of the ghost town look from my growing urban sci-fi terrain, but I never seem to get around to them .. I will have to remedy that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cheetor 🙂

      I think I got around to them because I was procrastinating on other projects (my stalled orks for example….) and it was an easy mindless task to complete them, but it’s still hobby output! 😉

      I know what you mean about the ghost town look, you need some clutter to make it appear people/aliens/whatever have been there…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Scatter terrain is unquestionably tangible hobby output. Its definitely better to fire out a few of those rather than get bogged down in assembly line painting that is sapping your enthusiasm. The orks time will come again… it always does in my experience 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

